Sunday, April 15, 2012

20th Century baseball: 6

By Keith Antigiovanni

Pennant winners and playoff series winners of the Texas League, American Association, Southern Association and Pacific Coast League in the late 1920's (1925-1929).

Texas League Pennant winners:
1925: Fort Worth Panthers               Fort Worth playoff champion
1926: Dallas Steers
1927: Wichita Falls Spudders
1928: Houston Buffaloes                  Houston playoff champion
1929: Wichita Falls Spudders           Dallas playoff champion

American Association Pennant winners:
1925: Louisville Colonels
1926: Louisville Colonels
1927: Toledo Mud Hens
1928:  Indianapolis Indians
1929:  Kansas City Blues

Southern Association Pennant winners:
1925: Atlanta Crackers
1926: New Orleans Pelicans
1927: New Orleans Pelicans
1928: Birmingham Barons
1929: Birmingham Barons

Pacific Coast League Pennant winners:
1925: San Francisco Seals
1926: Los Angeles Angels
1927: Oakland Oaks
1928: San Francisco Seals                 San Francisco playoff champion
1929: Mission Reds                           Hollywood Stars playoff champion

Playoff series were sporadic prior to the Shaughnessy Playoff System in 1933. The pre-1933 playoff series generally involved split season champions where the champion of the first half would play the champion of the second half.

The Shaugnessy Playoffs were the top 4 teams in a league with either the #1 seed facing the #4 seed and #2 vs #3 or #1 vs #3, #2, vs #4 depending on the league.

In 1920 the intraleague Dixie Series began with the champions of the Texas League facing the champions of the Southern Association.

No comments:

Post a Comment