Tuesday, June 14, 2011

2011 College World Series

2011 College World Series
By Keith Antigiovanni

The 65th College World Series begins this saturday (June 18) in Omaha when College Baseball's "Elite Eight" face off in the first round games to determine the 2011 NCAA Division 1 baseball champion.

The defending champion South Carolina Gamecocks will face the Texas A&M Aggies. The Gamecocks are trying to become the first team to repeat since Oregon State (2006-2007). The Aggies have yet win a CWS title and are making their first appearance since 1999.

The Texas Longhorns will make their 34th appearance in the CWS (all-time lead) and play Florida in a rematch of the 2005 College World Series Final series. Texas has won 6 championships (1949, 1950, 1975, 1983, 2002, 2005).

The Vanderbilt Commodores are in Omaha for the first time in school history and will play the North Carolina Tar Heels. North Carolina has made 9 CWS appearances which include back to back Finals' appearances (2006-2007).

The Virginia Cavaliers are also making their first appearance against the California Golden Bears. The Bears first appearance since 1992 and won the initial CWS in 1947.

1 comment:

  1. Texas/Fla and UNC/Vanderbilt open the first-round games today

    Texas is trying to win its' 7th CWS title and 3rd in the past 10 years.

    UNC is trying to rebound after back to back defeats in the CWS Finals (2006-2007) and Vanderbilt is making its' first appearance.