Tuesday, June 12, 2012

2012 College World Series

By Keith Antigiovanni

The NCAA's "Elite Eight" also known as the College World Series begins this friday (June 15) in Omaha, Nebraska. This will be the 66th annual College World Series and the 63rd consecutive time in Omaha.

Of the 8 finalists, 6 are no surprise (Florida, South Carolina, Florida State, UCLA, Arkansas and Arizona) but two (Kent State, Stony Brook) were not expected to be in Nebraska this weekend when the playoffs began a couple of weeks ago.

For the first time in many years almost all of the teams have not won a CWS title, with South Carolina being the exception as the defending back-to-back champions and Arizona.

Bracket one will play on friday with UCLA taking on Stony Brook and Arizona versus Florida State.
The Bruins made the final series in 2010 but lost 2-1 to South Carolina. Florida State has made numerous appearances in the College World Series but has yet to win the title.

Bracket two will play on saturday as Arkansas goes against Kent State and Florida faces South Carolina in a rematch of the Final series from last year.

No comments:

Post a Comment