Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Mountain West Conference

By Keith Antigiovanni

The Mountain West Conference (MWC) will be consolidating with Conference USA next year but the present is will be decided after 12 weeks of play. The TCU Horned Frogs (9-2, 6-0) have clinched at least a tie for the conference title with one game remaining against UNLV (2-9, 1-5). TCU will move to the Big-12 after this year after winning its’ third straight MWC title.

Boise State Broncos (10-1, 5-1) will also be moving on to the Big East Conference after this season with only one year in the MWC. Boise State will face New Mexico (1-10, 1-5) in their MWC swan song.

Wyoming (7-4, 4-2), San Diego State (7-4, 4-3) and Air Force (7-4, 3-4) are all bowl eligible. San Diego State is bowl eligible for a second straight year during the Brady Hoke to Rocky Long transition and is in talks with the Big East Conference.
Colorado State (3-8, 1-5), UNLV (2-9, 1-5) and New Mexico (1-10, 1-5) will be making changes with New Mexico already in the process when they hired former Notre Dame Coach Bob Davie the past week.

The Conference USA Teams are University of Alabama-Birmingham, East Carolina, Marshall, Memphis, Southern Mississippi, Rice, University of Texas-El Paso, Tulane and Tulsa. Fresno State, University of Nevada-Reno and Hawaii will be joining the MWC-Conference USA next year as well. Current Conference USA teams SMU, Houston and UCF have been invited to join the Big East in a continuation of a major college football realignment.

No comments:

Post a Comment