Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Triple A Playoffs Begin

By Keith Antigiovanni

The first round of the AAA Playoffs are set in both the Pacific Coast and International Leagues with the winners to face each other in the Triple A baseball championship in

The Round Rock Express (87-57) will face the Omaha Storm Chasers (79-63) in the American Conference playoffs. The Express are in the playoffs for the first time since 2006 and seek their first PCL title. The Express had previously won the Texas League title in 2000.

In the Pacific Conference the Reno Aces (77-67) face the Sacramento River Cats (88-56).

Meanwhile in the International League playoffs will feature the Southern division champion Durham Bulls (80-62) against the Western division championn Columbus Clippers (88-56). The two clubs are also the past two AAA winners.

Both clubs have been very successful over the years. The Clippers have made the league finals 11 times and won 8 IL titles overall since 1977 while the Bulls have been to the finals 6 times and won 3 IL titles since 1998.

The Pawtuckey Red Sox (81-61) will play division rival Lehigh Valley Iron Pigs (80-64) for the right to go to the Governors's Cup (International League Finals).

Recent AAA winners are:
1998: New Orleans Zephyrs
1999: Vancouver Canadians
2000: Indianapolis Indians
2006: Tucson Sidewinders
2007: Sacramento River Cats
2008: Sacramento River Cats
2009: Durham Bulls
2010: Columbus Clippers

No comments:

Post a Comment